We just don’t know how sick yet.

—-

I’ve been mulling over whether or not to blog about this, since nothing is definite, but this is a fairly private blog, and no one in my family reads it, so I feel like I can go ahead and vent a little.

A few months ago, I noticed a swelling in my neck. It was around the beginning of the school year, so I assumed it was a swollen lymph node – my friends’ kids were all getting the back-to-school ick, so my friends were sick, so I was sick. As it happens.
Every.
Damn.
Year.

Flash forward a few weeks…
I’m at the end of my Ireland trip, hubby gets a cold, so I do, too. Sharing is caring, right?
I ended up with a sinus infection, ear infection, and a pretty nasty cough.
That cough didn’t go away for weeks.
And I mean weeks.
When I hit the three-week mark of this pretty nasty cough (lots of flem, coughing so hard that I felt like I was going to puke, etc.), I scheduled an appointment with a GP.

Turns out, I had bronchitis.
Oh, and that lump?
Had nothing to do with it… so off to get blood work done.
Aaaaaaaand I had to schedule and ultrasound.

Fun.

After about a week, I get the results in the mail. Bloodwork looks normal; yay!
Ultrasound results look scary. Boo!
Apparently, I have a large thyroid nodule on the right, and two smaller nodules on the left.
The notes included words like “cystic” and “solid” and “FNA recommended”.
FNA means “fine needle aspiration” – a biopsy.

But, I’m not a doctor, and I don’t play one on TV, so I schedule another appointment with a GP to discuss.

F*ck.
It looks “concerning”.
Consult with an endocrinologist.

The endo doc was nice. He was very clinical, and straightforward. He didn’t seem overly concerned, as thyroid cancer is rare and easily treated. But, the size of the lumps in my throat were enough to warrant a biopsy.

While these nodules are huge, they are big enough to affect my swallowing.
And I constantly feel like I have to clear my throat, which is irritating the sh*t out of it.

I’m tired, like, all the time.
And I have very little interest in food. I’ll get hungry, and eat, but I get no enjoyment like I used to.

In the event that I have something like hypothyroidism, that might explain why, despite the fact that I’m in the studio and dancing 4-5 nights a week, I haven’t been able to lose any weight (as a matter of fact, I’ve been gaining some).

It could explain the fatigue.

But I won’t know until I have the biopsy (two days before Thanksgiving) and get the results.

I hate waiting.

