I usually party like a rock star for solstice (fire dancing, anyone?). But, since I’m fighting a pretty wicked migraine right now – and I can tell it’s only going to get worse – my partying will be pared down to baking.

Here’s one of my favorite solstice cookie recipes…. It’s sort of a lemony sugar cookie deal. I’m hoping to bring some in to share on Monday.

AND … I’m in the process of converting it to GF (my sister has a good flour mix).

Happy Summer, everyone!

Summer Solstice Cookies

3/4c softened butter
2c brown sugar
2 eggs
1T lemon juice
2T grated lemon rind
2c sifted flour
1c finely chopped pecans. (optional; walnuts or dried cranberries work, too.)

Cream butter in a large non-metallic mixing bowl.
Gradually add the brown sugar, mixing well.
Add eggs, lemon  juice, and rind, then mix well until mixture is well blended.
Cover the bowl with a white or yellow towel or cloth napkin, and refrigerate overnight.
The next day, shape dough into 1″ balls and place 3″ apart on a greased  cookie sheet.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes.
Cool on racks.
Approx. 36 cookies.

