A thought has been running through my head over the past few days…

Why is is so hard for people to accept that someone else could be happy with their life? Why do they need to go out of their way to belittle the people around them, people they claim to care about? Just because one person doesn’t live the same way (different religions, jobs, hobbies, or pets, etc.), does that mean their life is any less valid, or good?

I’m sure I’ve been that person before. Inflating my ego because I can/choose to/get to do the things I want. I don’t like to be that person, but my mouth runs away on me sometimes. I get so excited about the cool stuff in my life, that I forget (or ignore) that I am privileged. I have a good life, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t, too. It just means that I have surrounded myself with people who are just as cool, if not more so.

So, all of us, I think, need to just take a moment before we cut someone down for not enjoying the same things, or living the same lifestyle, or keeping the same kinds of pets, as we do.
Just… take a moment before you tell someone that they are less of a person than you. You are not perfect. You are not the only one that matters. We are not beautiful and unique snowflakes.

