Bind this sick person to Heaven,
for from Earth she is being torn away!

Of the brave person who was so strong,
the strength has departed.

Of the righteous servant,
the force does not return.
In this bodily frame she lies dangerously ill.

But Ishtar, who in her dwelling,
is grieved concerning this being,
descends from her mountain unvisited of humans.

To the door of this sick person she comes.
The sick person listens!
Who is there? Who comes?

It is Ishtar, daughter of the Moon God!
Like pure silver may this garment be shining white!
Like brass may she be radiant!

To the Sun, greatest of the gods, may she ascend!
And may the Sun, greatest of the gods,
receive this soul into these holy hands!

My husband’s grandmother is sick.
We only recently found out. And tonight we got the call.
Cancer.

The same beast that took my grandfather, and so many more, is back. She’s in the hospital now, and is refusing treatment.. My father-in-law just came to pick up J to see her. Mom is there already. They don’t expect it to be long, and there isn’t much they can do but make her comfortable.

Grandma is a strong woman, a stubborn woman, and I love her.
She has a heart so full of compassion and love for not just those close to her, but complete strangers. She supervises the rec. center in her trailer park community, so the kids in the area have a safe place to go. Yeah, she’s that kind of woman.

I lost my maternal grandfather a few years ago, and both paternal grandparents more recently – within a few days of one another.
J lost both of his grandfathers within about a month of each other the same year mom’s dad passed.
His other grandmother was the most recent to pass away.

So we were each left with one grandma.
There’s really something special about that generation of women. I don’t know that I could even explain it, but it’s there.

I wish I could be there with them right now.
I wish I could stay by J’s side for comfort. Not just for him, but for me, as well.
And for her.

Tomorrow is going to be rough, no matter the outcome.
I work with J’s sister…. my guess is that she will be at the hospital tonight, too.
I think I might have to bring in some chocolate. And maybe some beer.
::sigh::

Deep Peace to You
Deep peace of the running wave to you.
Deep peace of the flowing air to you.
Deep peace of the quiet earth to you.
Deep peace of the shining stars to you.
Deep peace of the infinite peace to you.

 – Adapted from Ancient Gaelic Runes –

