One of my facebook friends posted this on her wall today, and I couldn’t help but agree with the sentiment.

“I wish my moderate Republican friends would simply be honest. They all say they’re voting for Romney because of his economic policies (tenuous and ill-formed as they are), and that they disagree with him on gay rights. Fine. Then look me in the eye, speak with a level clear voice, and say,” My taxes and take-home pay mean more than your fundamental civil rights, the sanctity of your marriage, your right to visit an ailing spouse in the hospital, your dignity as a citizen of this country, your healthcare, your right to inherit, the mental welfare and emotional well-being of your youth, and your very personhood.” It’s like voting for George Wallace during the Civil Rights movements, and apologizing for his racism. You’re still complicit. You’re still perpetuating anti-gay legislation and cultural homophobia. You don’t get to walk away clean, because you say you “disagree” with your candidate on these issues.”
— Doug Wright, Pulitzer and Tony Award winning playwright

I recently got into a debate – not an argument, surprisingly – with a friend of a friend over the whole thing. His agrument was “Where does it end?”. I’m sorry, but that’s a silly argument. Just because two adults of the same gender want to marry, that doesn’t mean that we’d let folks marry animals or children or lamps.

State-recognized marriage is a legal, civil contract between two consenting adults. It has nothing to do with any religion. If you want your church to also recognize your marriage, that’s fine too. The fact is that marriage is not solely a Christian institution. This is not a difficult concept.

On that note:
I understand that churches are exclusionary institutions, and may say no to couples wanting to marry for any number of reasons (my mother was denied becuase she was divorced from my father). So, I understand that a church would refuse to marry a couple because they were same-sex. I don’t have to agree with it, but that is their choice. The state cannot make them marry anyone.

