The Holy Book of Women’s Mysteries – Book Review, Part 3

Chapter 3: Celebrating the Holy Days of the Earth

This brief chapter covers Sabbats and Esbats.
For those readers who are not familiar

For those of you not familiar:
There are 8 Sabbats that make up the Wheel of the Year. The Sabbats are solar, seasonal and represent the cycle of birth, life, death and rebirth. These days are Samhain, Yule, Imbolc, Ostara, Beltain, Litha, Lughnasadh, and Mabon. Sabbats usually correspond with modern Judeo-Christian holidays like Christmas, Easter, and Halloween.

Esbats are the celebration of the 13 full moons that occur every year. The Esbats are lunar and represent the Goddess at her height of power. These are the times when Her magick is more potent than on any other day of the month.

Back to the book…

Since this is a fairly short chapter, I’ll keep this short.
This is a great chapter. Simple, eh?

This part of the book is just what I expected and quite useful. As a Solitary, it is difficult to find teachers, mentors, etc. to help in learning rituals. I now have a fairly comprehensive how-to on celebrating important Pagan holidays.

You can clearly see how each of these corresponds to a modern Judeo-Christian holiday.