One of the things I have come to realize about people is that they love tragedy. I mean, not love-love, but they enjoy watching other peoples’ train wrecks.

You see, if it’s not happening to you, you have reason to feel good about your life/situation. Most people, I would hope, see a real-life tragedy and feel bad/sorry/sad for those experiencing it. Fictional events are watched with fascination – you don’t have to feel bad, but the empathy is there.

Still… There’s that little bit of snug satisfaction when you see other people hurting. It’s as if you know you’re surviving and they are not, your genes will continue, you are strong.

The internet is one of the best places to observe this.
Seriously, go on Facebook and watch what happens when someone posts about some misfortune or another.

A”friend” posted something about life sucking. My only response was something along the lines of “You still live at home with your parents. They pay for your college, your car, your insurance. They still feed you and clothe you. Get over yourself.”
Had I been on twitter, the hashtag #firstworldproblems would have been appropriate.
Why would someone post a status like that in the first place?
Attention.
Tragedy draws attention.

There are days where I myself have pseudo-vague-book-esque statuses.
Most times, it’s so I can vent a little. But, I usually think better of it and click delete.
Other times, I legitimately want the attention – vague-booking is a great way to start a conversation. The moment someone asks about the status, though, STOP EFFING VAGUE-BOOKING. The whole “I don’t want to talk about it” B.S. is stupid.

Drama.
Stupid effin’ drama.

